Fabulous Friday

 

Happy FRIDAY!! Cheers to the weekend. Smile

My week has been all sorts of fabulous.

 

Fabulous is…. Long(er), speedier runs.

+1 mile warm up. (My garmin didn’t find the satellite very quickly, haha!)

+1.2 miles. My garmin really didn’t want to connect yesterday! Our first mile was super fast too, so our average pace was really closer to 10:10. I think that run really shows my improvement! It felt awesome. Smile

Fabulous is… This weather. Seriously, anything above freezing feels like a heat stroke. I just wore a long sleeve for running today, no jacket, and I got so hot I had to take off my head wrap and gloves off. This picture is a lie: It was actually really sunny today. I just forgot to snap a screenshot of the weather until now.

Look at those high numbers next week. I AM SO EXCITED.

Fabulous is… Quality time with Andrew.

Today I helped him practice for his solo competition tomorrow (he is going to do GREAT! he sounds wonderful!) and then we went out to our favorite little burger place. I ATE SOME OF HIS FRIES. AND A CHICKEN SANDWICH ON A BUN (!!) WITH PESTO (!!) and it was totally delicious and worth it. ED didn’t ruin our date night. Noopppeee.

Fabulous is… Spaghetti Squash & Quest bars. AKA my latest obsessions.

How do you make spaghetti squash? I’ve found the quickest, easiest way is to poke some holes in it, stick the whole thing in the microwave for about 8 minutes (flipping halfway through), and then scooping the guts out.

I like to bake my quest bars.

I think these are my two favorite flavors. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Cookies & Cream. What can I say, I’m a cookie lover Winking smile

For those of you that bake them, what do you bake them on?? They always get stuck to the foil for me!

 

5. I’ve been experimenting with making my own protein bars for pre-run fuel. Protein bars can get expensive!

I think I’ve finally perfected the recipe. Winking smile

Not the prettiest, but tasty, I promise!

I modified this recipe from the amazing Sunnie who blogs over at Modern Girl Nutrition. Thank you for the inspiration, Sunnie!

Sugar Cookie Dough Protein Bars

Ingredients:

Old Fashioned Oats 1/4 cup dry – Ground up into a flour using a Food Processor

Rice Chex Cereal, 1 cup- Also ground up into a flour/ powder using a Food Processor

Protein Powder (I used Now Pea Protein – Vanilla Toffee)  2 scoops

Unsweetened Almond Milk, 1/4 Cup

Vanilla Extract, 1 Tsp

Cinnamon (to taste)

Organic Creamy Salted Peanut Butter, 5 Tbsp

Agave, 2 Tbsp

Stevia to taste

hint: make sure you use a delicious flavored protein powder!!

 

Directions:

Use a food processor to grind up your oats and Chex mix. Add the other ingredients and mix well. Hopefully it will form a dough-like consistancy. If it seems dry, add water or more almond milk until it forms a cookie dough consistency.

Flatten into a tupperware. Freeze for a few hours or overnight.

Cut into 6 bars. I then wrap the bars in tin foil and freeze them individually! I take them with me to school and they thaw by lunch. I eat them around 3.

Nutrition:

180 calories per bar, with 13 g Protein and 17 g Carbs

Enjoy. If you like cookie dough you will LOVE these. Feel free to tweak the recipe to your heart’s content!! Smile

 

What was fabulous about your Friday?

Red heartEmily

9 thoughts on “Fabulous Friday

  1. I’m glad you’re doing better! Your ED shouldn’t tell you how to live your life! and isn’t getting faster the best feeling ever? You’re killing it!
    And microwaving spaghetti squash…that is genius. I need to get some ASAP! Have a great weekend!

  2. Yum, I have got to try those protein bars. 😉 Congrats on the speedy runs and my garmin definitely acts up like that pretty much half the time. The weather where I live is much warmer but it’s been raining nonstop for quite a while now, how I’d love some good ole sunshine.

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    • Quest bars are delicious but sort of an acquired taste and also super duper expensive.

      I feel like it’s just me but I guess it’s everyone with finding satellites!!
      I hope you have a great weekend as well Shawn 🙂

  3. I can just feel the happiness radiating from you in this post! So happy you’re doing well 🙂 I’ve only tried spaghetti squash once and it was disgusting.. maybe I have to give it another shot! Loving those speedy runs too! You’re getting good!

    • Aww Leigha!! 😀 I’m glad!! I know I’ve had some negative posts lately 😦

      Spaghetti squash isn’t anything like spaghetti… It’s a very strange thing, and the taste and texture could definitely be gross to some people.. I think either you love it or you hate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

