Weekend recap 2/23/14

Happy Sunday, everyone! Thank you so much for your support on my last post. I definitely hit post when I was still in an angry mood- I should have calmed down before posting that. Hopefully you all can forgive me for being so whiney!! Sad smile

 

Despite the little bump in the road yesterday, I have had a pretty wonderful weekend.

On Friday my AP Language teacher used my writing as the only example for our class. He gave me a PERFECT score on the mock-AP grading scale, and then told us it was the hardest prompt we have done so far. I felt really smart. Talk about a self esteem booster! Smile

 

I also met with a Rep from Truman State during school on Friday. I was the only one to go to the presentation, so it was slightly awkward, but I got a lot of my questions answered! I am going to visit Truman soon. It’s a public school of about 5,000 with an academic reputation. However, it’s in a tiny town in the middle of nowhere in Missouri. So far I’ve only looked at schools in cities- I’m not so sure I love the idea of a small town school. Besides the setting, it’s practically perfect, so I have to visit and see how I like it!

2nd school I’ve looked at with Bulldogs as their mascot… Hmmm….

Right now I’m stuck when it comes to college. I really want to be involved- I’m just not sure what I want to be involved IN. I would love to run on a cross country or track team, but I would really have to improve my times for that to even be an option (Especially for D2 schools!). If I don’t join a team, I would still run and maybe get into doing half marathons, or join a competitive running club. I may want to do Marching Band but I don’t think I love it to continue it after high school. Do I become part of the school’s band program (and play oboe)?? What about sororities?? So many questions. I think I know what I want to major in- Speech Language Pathology!- but as far as extracurriculars, I’m clueless!

On Saturday, once my blood sugar came back down to normal, I took all that frustration and went for a run. I didn’t even look at my Garmin or plan where I was going to go, I just ran. I blasted my music and somehow all my favorites played on shuffle. Sunset was just starting and it was beautiful.

I ended up doing 5.5 miles. At a pretty fast pace for me by myself for that kind of distance. Needless to say, I felt 103432903% better after that. This run made me fall in love with running all over again.

Speaking of falling in love, last night I went to a friend’s house to watch her (illegal!!) copy of Frozen.

I LOVE IT. It was so cute and funny and ahhhhh. Smile 

 

Today is a rest day- And I need it! I’ve got tons of work to do for the upcoming leadership retreat I am a leader for!

We leave on Wednesday night and come back on Friday. I have a million and a half things to do, plan, and make, but I am really excited for it all. Open-mouthed smile

 

 

Have you seen Frozen?

How did you choose what to get involved in for college?

Any advice on how to choose a school?

What are you looking forward to this week?

Enjoy the rest of your weekend! I know I will.

Red heartEmily

16 thoughts on “Weekend recap 2/23/14

  1. You weren’t being whiney! Everybody is allowed to be upset – especially when they are looking forward to running a track meet and can’t because of something they can’t control.

    Great job on your writing prompt! That is way cool 🙂

    Amazing job on your run! I love running to deal with emotions 🙂 It definitely helps!

    How did you put the Instagram feed on your blog sidebar?

    • Aw thanks Liz!! 🙂

      Honestly I did it so long ago that I don’t remember how exactly, but there is some kind of plug-in that just has you sign onto your instagram and it begins showing up. I’m sorry I’m not too helpful!:(

  2. Haha I did the same thing as you when I posted my “I’m In a Bad Mood” post a few weeks ago. I probably should have just cooled down and not hit post, but it really makes bloggers seem like real people when they share their struggles 🙂 MSU is a small town and I love it. Everything revolves around the college and all the employers are super supportive of working around student’s schedules.

  3. I’m glad you’re feeling better! And don’t worry too much about extracurriculars now! When you get to college, you’ll find out about all softs of activities and student groups you never even heard of!

  4. Ahh college! I have no idea how I’m gonna choose where to go – there’s SO many options! Look at that speedy run.. that’s awesome! I always feel 10x better after a run too! I haven’t seen Frozen yet but all I’ve heard about it is good. How did your friend get an illegal copy?! Haha! When my grandma went to Peru they had a ton of movies that didn’t come out in the US so she bought a bunch! And I’m so excited for your leadership retreat haha! I actually have a church retreat next weekend!

    • Oh gosh there are so many options for college- it’s so exciting and scary all at the same time. My long runs are like therapy, I swear! Nothing like a long run to clear my head.

      My friend’s dad knows a guy at his work who gave him a bunch of advanced copies. Sooo she has Frozen! You need to see it- it does live up to the hype in my opinion! 🙂

  5. Congrats on acing the writing prompt and I’m so glad you’re feeling better! I completely agree with Aurora, just wait till you get to college and don’t sweat it. 🙂

    I’m super obsessed with Frozen!!! I have the soundtrack playing on repeat and can’t wait for the dvd to be released!

  6. When it comes to choosing a school, go with what is right for YOU not any expectations you feel. 99% of my city goes to the university here, but I have zero desire to live at home for another four years, so I’m moving away. People don’t really understand that, but I know what I need to do to be happy! Just follow your heart. 🙂

  7. dude! I actually go to Truman State! Its a pretty great school, and I actually like the small town feel. Its within walking distance to a really cute town square – with coffee shops to study in and good, local restaurants. I’d consider it a pretty walkable and fit city. There is also a great state park, 1000 Hills, that has incredible hiking and lake activities. There are a lot of trail races there as well! Email me if you want to know any more about Truman!

    • Really??? I can’t believe someone reads my posts who goes to Truman!! I am so excited right now 😀

      I didn’t know about the state park- I love that!! It sounds gorgeous. I would love to go on long runs there! The trail races sound right up my alley.

      Thank you so much for offering to tell me more!! I’ll probably take you up on that. I’m worried about the dining hall food and also about if there is a huge party atmosphere or not!

  8. Yay for heading in the SLP direction 🙂 Getting involved in school is tough, so many things sound like fun! That’s the beauty of freshman year though you can sample everything you want and then dedicate yourself to the things that really feel right.

Leave a Reply

