Just another label.

Today I was 100% honest with myself and with the professionals I talked to. Today I was diagnosed with anorexia.

I’m going to start fresh. I’m going to challenge myself to eat foods I’m afraid of. I want to dig myself out of this hole before I fall any further.

The dietitian is worried I have female athlete triad. We will see when I get my blood work done.

I just wanted to be healthy. Somehow it spiraled out of control. Healthy can include desserts (not just an occasional healthy one I have carefully calculated the calories for). So this is my fresh start. I’m going to find that balance.

What else did I do today? I had a beautiful 6ish mile long run this morning. Weather in the 30’s?? Yes please. 20s are too cold. 30s feel comfortable. Smile

I also got to go shopping with my dad and my sister. I hadn’t seen my dad for two weeks so it was pretty nice. He brought me my favorite magazine!! Open-mouthed smile

That’s all for today. I just had to get that off my chest.

 

Red heartEmily

19 thoughts on “Just another label.

  1. Emily I am so sorry that you are going through this right now. I’ve never been professionally diagnosed, but I went through amenorrhea for about 5.5 months. I’m so glad that you are talking to professionals and your family – I’m always here if you need to talk (you can message me with my email on iMessage anytime!)

  2. Oh, Emily. I’m so sorry that this has happened, but can I just say – that this is NOT just another label. You are not labeled as “anorexic” or “Emily has anorexia.” You are still Emily. I went through sooo much identity loss throughout my experience, and you need to know to stay true to yourself, even through the tough times. I am so inspired by how you are handling this and your mindset on wanting to get healthy – that’s one step ahead of the game. 🙂 And also know that you are not alone, you have so many people who care about you and want to see you kick AN’s butt. You are strong, beautiful, and just plain awesome, girl. Love you, and don’t hesitate to message me or email me any time you need to talk things through. ❤ 🙂 You got this, girl.

    • Jessica, I’m at a loss for words. This means so much to me. Thank you for taking the time to write all that to me. You’re a huge inspiration to me and I am so thankful for the support and love!! Thank you for introducing me to the yoga challenge, too. It is such a stress reliever during this time. I hope you’re loving it as much as I do! Once again, thank you. ❤ Emily

  3. I am SO GLAD you are taking care of this. So many people drift through this disorder and die from it due to lack of intervention/denial. You accepting it, and recognizing that it IS just a label, shows SO MUCH strength. Any time you need to talk to someone with a closer perspective, never hesitate to email me! Stay strong girlie. ❤

  4. I’m so happy that you’re willing to recover! I will ALWAYS be here if you ever need to talk. We will get through this together! ❤ I saw my dad for the first time in awhile too today. 🙂

    • Aw Leigha thank you so much!! Yes, we will! ❤ It's always nice to see him, but it's weird when it feels like so much time has passed since I saw him last. I'm loving the yoga challenge, I can't wait to do todays! (:

  5. It’s great you have made a GIGANTIC step into recovery. I didn’t have any idea, but I am glad you have made the choice to recover…it’s such a brave and courageous thing to do. Good luck with everything!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

