21 Day Sugar Detox

Happy Wednesday everyone!! Smile I hope you have a fantastic day.

If you follow me on instagram @smilemilegirl, then you have probably seen me tag my foods #21DSD. That’s because I am currently doing a 21 Day Sugar Detox. Here’s the story.

About 2 weeks ago, I was searching through the New Books shelf at my library and found this.

The 21 Day Sugar Detox by Diane Sanfilippo.

I was attracted to it because I was pretty sure I had seen it on Instagram before.

When I got home and read it, I realized that this could really, really help me, not only with diabetes but also cravings and (hopefully) acne and overall health.

The idea of the 21DSD is to completely eliminate sugars and sweet tasting foods for 21 days. This includes sweeteners like honey, stevia, etc, as well as any fruits (besides green apples and green bananas and grapefruit) and wheat. On the plan, you’re supposed to eat 1 fruit a day from those listed above, and 1/2 cup starch (not including wheat!). On days with physical activity, I follow a modification that involves eating 1 cup of starch (which includes sweet potatoes!!)

I ate a big bowl of fruit on December 1st, took a deep breath, and I started on December 2nd.

I had a bit of a slip-up those first two days, forgetting that my Ezekiel bread was made of wheat, so I had 2 breakfasts that weren’t exactly 21DSD approved. Oops!

There is sugar and wheat and artificial sweeteners in so many things in our lives. It’s scary when you think about it. I’ve had to really adjust my eating habits. I decided to do Level 1 of the 21DSD which still includes some starches like quinoa, etc, and full fat dairy.

Typical Breakfast:

Pumpkin Pancakes (recipe from the 21DSD book) and turkey bacon.

or Sausage (in various flavors) from Costco/Sam’s Club with a handful of nuts.

with Green Tea.

Typical Lunch:

Tuna and Pico de Gallo with Spinach.

or

Leftovers

or Tuna Salad (made with full fat greek yogurt or Wholly Guacamole packets)

with a side of veggies (and sometimes hummus. I am unsure if hummus is 21DSD approved.)

with water to drink.

Typical Dinner:

Some kind of meat (steak) and veggies (asparagus)

or

“Throw everything in a pan and call it a day” with ground turkey or chicken, spinach, onions, garlic, tomatoes, green beans, broccoli, peppers, etc.

or

Stuffed Peppers recipe from 21DSD book (DELICIOUS!!)

with water or La Croix sparkling water.

Snacks:

Side note- I think I snack more than the average person. I have 2-3 snacks per day, minimum. No shame. Winking smile

Green apple with cinnamon and a spoonful of almond butter

Full fat Greek Yogurt and Pistachios.

Baked Apple (recipe from the 21DSD book) which is the MOST AMAZING NO SUGAR TREAT. Red heart(so far.)

I’ve also found myself eating turkey bacon as a snack. Again, no shame.

I’m on Day 9. I’m surviving. If it weren’t for being sick (I have a cold Sad smile), I’d say I would be thriving.

The big question…. Why am I doing this??
I’m doing the 21 Day Sugar Detox in hopes to reduce my cravings for sugar and have steadier “base” blood sugar levels. I want to have better diabetes control with less peaks and valleys. I would LOVE for my acne to clear up, and to reduce headaches and tummy troubles. And finally, I love a personal challenge. I want to live a healthier life. This is part of my discovery of what “healthy” really means.

 

I’m planning on doing a follow up post with Q and A’s. What questions do you have about the 21 Day Sugar Detox?? Smile

 

Red heartEmily

8 thoughts on “21 Day Sugar Detox

  1. I hope you get over your cold soon!
    This sounds really cool! But, considering the fact that I eat a ton of fruit and get a lot of my nutrients that way, I’m not sure I’d be able to do this 🙂 I think I will try after the holidays though 🙂

    • You could always modify it where you still eat fruit. I think that fruit is WONDERFUL and I could never eat long-term without it. However, it does cause blood sugar spikes so that’s why I’m not eating it on the program (:

  2. I can’t wait to see how this turns out! I’ve eliminated sugar in the past, but I tend to rely heavily on fruits and therefore never kill my sweet cravings. Good luck!

  3. I have to say “good for you” for doing this detox! I have been a high school nutrition teacher for several years and it has always been a daunting task trying to get teenagers to take an interest in their nutritional health at that stage in their life. Keep up the good work!

    • Thank you!! (: And thank you for checking out my blog. I think nutrition is important at any age, but high schoolers tend to completely forget about it. I love learning about nutrition and I feel like maybe having diabetes makes me more aware of and interested in food and nutrition.

    • What I love about it is that I’m not eating processed foods. It would be really hard to do the 21DSD with the miles you run just because it’s hard to get enough food with the 21DSD and I feel like the food I’m consuming is less “efficient” energy than my normal granola bar.

Leave a Reply

