Cross Country changed my life.

I’m back. I couldn’t resist falling back into the blogging world. I’ve been waiting, quietly reading all of your blogs when my homework is done on Sundays and I got the chance. I love blogging. I love reading all of your blogs and updating mine. This little world is so exciting.

Running friends!

Running friends!

Over the last few months I’ve been busier than I have ever been in my life. It was crazy. Tuesdays & Thursdays I would run with the Cross Country team after school, then eat some kind of “dinner” (An apple & almond butter sandwich is a dinner..right??) and go straight to band practice. I didn’t get home until at least 9:30 on these nights. Friday nights, when there were football games, I wouldn’t get home until 11:00 or later. It was crazy, absolutely insane, but I loved it. I really did.

Doing both band and cross country taught me that I can do whatever I put my mind to. On those Saturdays when I woke up at the crack of dawn to go to a meet, ran (and sometimes PR’d!), then went to a band competition and performed a great show, I felt like superwoman. Diabetic superwoman. Yeah, I was exhausted, and crabby sometimes, but it was all worth it.

long runs = smoothies!

long runs = smoothies!

My cross country season wasn’t what I had expected. I ended up being able to run in only half the meets because of diabetes (lows/highs) and band conflicts. I was recovering from shin splints and some sort of knee issue when everyone else was preparing for the season- my first time running 3 miles in a month happened to be my first race. (not a good idea.) The day was hot, I was scared beyond belief, and I peed my pants during the race. I was so embarrassed I cried. I learned that drinking over a liter of water before your race is a terrible idea. I came in at just over 27 minutes. I was hoping to be UNDER 27 in my first race.

At our first home meet, I came in at 26:44. I was so proud of myself. I figured I would only get better. I could come in under 26, totally. Except then.. I didn’t. My season PR was only 26:30. The last two meets didn’t go very well. One I ran with low blood sugar, and the other one I had major tummy issues for.

I beat my season PR on a medium run the other day. I was running with a group of girls who normally are a little faster than me, because the slower girls all stop showing up when the season is officially over. I just ran with them, and we talked, and I noticed I was breathing heavily but I didn’t think about pace until I looked at my garmin at the end and saw that I had beat my record. My total moving time was 25:33.

From some of my races. Progress board (:

From some of my races. Progress board (:

These times are really slow for my team. I was in the bottom 5 finishers on the team for every race. When I get down about it, I look back to February when I ran the Komen for the Cure 5k was about 34 minutes. I worked just as hard in that race than I did on the run I did this week. That’s improvement. My downhill mile time just a week ago was 6:59. I may not be the fastest but I got a heck of a lot faster and I’m proud of that. I love running. This comic sums it up.ย Running given me an inner strength I never knew I had.

-Emily

P.S. I hope you like the changes. Emily Smiles for Miles is now officially Smile Mile Girl and a wordpress blog! I’m still getting used to the wordpress layout, especially inserting pictures. I’ll be back to blogging at least once a week. I’m hoping to write about healthy, low carb food, daily life, and inspiration more than I used to. Thanks for reading, I hope you’ll stick with me! (:

10 thoughts on “Cross Country changed my life.

  1. Yayyyy you’re back! ๐Ÿ˜€ and hey – don’t worry about times. You’re running and that’s all that matters! If you enjoy it then stick with it ๐Ÿ™‚ times will eventually come down!

  2. Yay!! I loved your blog and am so glad you’re back. Cross country changed my life, too – I’m actually writing a post on it right now! And don’t worry about the conflicts, because everyone has those. I didn’t run my last race, and half my varsity team was out by the end of the season. Anyways, yay for coming back to blogging! I look forward to reading more posts!!

  3. Congrats on a great season! You don’t have to win the race to gain something valuable and so, so special. You improved your time by almost 10 minutes-that is a huge accomplishment and you should be proud of yourself!

Leave a Reply

